Fall Book Preview

There are so many great books set for release this fall!  The one I was looking forward to the most, Dr Sleep, I picked up last week.  I haven’t actually starting reading it yet – I’m in the middle of The Silver Star by Jeannette Walls, which is really good so far.  So what else is on my reading agenda this fall?  A few of my favorite authors have new books coming out that I’m really excited about!  So much to read, so little time!

9780316204361_p0_v9_s260x420I was at Barnes and Noble earlier this week and saw the promotional display for David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell.  I’ve read some of his earlier books and really enjoyed his writing.  He has a knack for putting things in a new perspective, allowing readers to view issues in a different way.  In this new work, he examines the classic underdog.  And, as is his style, has a variety of examples to illustrate his argument.

Jhumpa Lahiri is back with another potential masterpiece.  Following the successes of The NamesakeInterpreter of 9780307265746_p0_v8_s260x420Maladies, and Unaccustomed Earth, comes The Lowland.  Included in all of her stories are bits and pieces of Indian culture – which I find interesting, because it’s something I definitely don’t know much about.  I’ll be excited about this one; its setting is Calcutta during the time of the struggle for Indian independence.  I can’t wait!

9780061941023_p0_v1_s260x420Wally Lamb, author of one of my most favorite books She’s Come Undone, also has a new book set for release this fall.  We Are Water is his first book in a few years.  Similar to his other works, this will focus on family and relationship dynamics.  Water will center around the break-up of a nearly 30 year marriage, after an eccentric artist leaves her husband for an art dealer (who happens to be a woman – scandal!).  Tackling issues such as divorce, relationships between parents and adult children, and gay marriage, this should be interesting!

A few of the series I follow have new novels coming out: The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon is the latest in the Number One Ladies Detective Agency series.  Janet Evanovich is set to release the latest in her Stephanie Plum series in Takedown Twenty.  Anyone else reading this series?  Anyone else wondering when this series will wrap up?  I know I am!  This is kind of a guilty pleasure of mine, but I’m ready for Stephanie to finally get married, find a stable job, and for the series to finally end!  Of course, when this book comes out, I’ll still read it (and later wonder why I did)!  9780425269510_p0_v1_s260x420

Ever wondered what happened to Sookie Stackhouse?  That’s the subject of Charlaine Harris’s new book After Dead.  It’ll be interesting to see how Harris attempts to wrap this complicated series up.  I am a fan of the show, and of the book series, so I’ll be excited to get my hands on this one, which is set for release a few days before Halloween!

It is officially Fall, but it’s almost 90 degrees today!  I’m ready for cooler weather, curling up on the couch with one of these books, and a nice cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

