Best kids books of 2013

This week will be devoted to our favorite books of the year.  First up is a list of our favorite kids books of the year.  There were so many great kids books this year, a few released by some of our favorite children’s authors.  Some featured cute animals, some made us laugh, and one helped my daughter overcome her fear of the dark (almost!).

9780803736801_p0_v1_s114x166My daughter and I read Dragons Love Tacos over and over, laughing every time.  Dragons do love tacos, it’s their favorite food, but they don’t like spicy tacos!!!  What happens when you invite a bunch of dragons over for a taco party and you accidentally put in spicy taco sauce?  You don’t want to find out!

9780062104182_p0_v1_s260x420Mo Willems is one of my favorite children’s authors, and I’m always excited when a new book of his comes out.  I think I’ve read each one of his books at least three times!  If you’re not familiar with Mo Willems, he is the author of the Pigeon series, the Piggie and Elephant series, and even wrote for Sesame Street for a few years.  Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs came out in the spring, and instantly became my favorite of all of his books.  I am not kidding – I laughed so hard that I cried!  9780374313210_p0_v2_s260x420

Who doesn’t enjoy cute cats?  Oh, I know there are many people who don’t like cats, but seriously what’s wrong with those people??  City Cat features a well-traveled stray cat who ventures around Europe, following a family who don’t seem to acknowledge his presence.  The illustrations feature some of the most popular tourist spots in Europe.  Although my daughter didn’t recognize these landmarks, we both laughed when on each page the cat was finding a different way to travel and keep up with the family.

9781782355878_p0_v1_s260x420Any Downton Abbey fan who also has a young reader around will enjoy this one!  Mouseton Abbey: The Missing Diamond tells the story of Lord Mouseton and his family’s preparations to celebration Cheesemas.  All of the Downton characters have been represented with mice, and all of their names replaced with the names of cheeses.  Totally adorable!

9780399255373_p0_v1_s260x420Over the summer there was a bit celebration when The Day the Crayons Quit first came to Barnes and Noble.  Like I really need a reason to go to the bookstore…  In this book the crayons decide to go on strike, some feeling misused, some overused, and some were just jealous of others that are more popular.  Duncan has to get the crayons to work together – and understand that they are all important.  Quite an important lesson for young readers!

9780316187480_p0_v2_s260x420Another of my favorite kids authors released a new book over the year.  The Dark is a story about a little boy who is afraid of the dark, but gets a chance to confront his fears.  The Dark is also a character in the story, who invites the little boy into the dark and scary basement.  It is here that the boy discovers a flashlight, helping him to be a little more brave around the house.  Fears of the dark are something around here we can definitely relate to!

I’m sure I’ll be reading some of these until I practically have them memorized!  But I won’t mind, these honestly made me laugh – and it is always nice to read a book that we both enjoy (and doesn’t have a princess in it!!).

One thought on “Best kids books of 2013

Leave a Reply

