New Fiction Friday: After Dead

9780425269510_p0_v1_s260x420It’s here, it’s here, it’s here!  I love when a book I’ve been waiting for comes in at the library.  I’ve been waiting for this one since Amy posted the preview of it.  I actually did something I’ve never done before.  I went on a few sites and looked at reviews of the book.  I was surprised to see how many people seemed to hate it and be seriously disappointed.  Then again as you may remember from the vampire posts, I’m not a major Sookie fan.  I enjoyed the books but I wasn’t nearly as invested in this series as in others.  I know there are people who were furious at the end of the last book.  Me not so much, I liked it.  I felt it was a great end to the series.  I was happy with who she ended up with.

Anyway, much of the vitriol out there about this book is due to its length and price.  As many say, it is a 200 hundred page book but can easily be read in 30 minutes, yet it costs $18.  Yeah too much for what it is, it might be worth half that.

Now after reading these reviews I went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised.  I enjoyed the book.  For those that don’t know After Dead is not a story it is an update encyclopedia of characters from the series.  Fortunately I read the entire series this summer so I remembered more than I think people who simply read each book once as it came out, even with that there were still characters I didn’t remember but it didn’t bother me.  The characters are in alphabetical order which is nice because if there are particular characters you really want an update on, you know like Sookie you can go right to them.

I sat down to read this and ended up laughing out loud several times.  Charlaine Harris must have had a blast when writing this book.  Some of the updates are long and some are quite short as in one line though at least one of the one liners really had me laughing even though I didn’t remember the character “Hank Clearwater contracted gonorrhea.”  Then there were one line updates that are irritating and the reason for so many bad reviews like “Isaiah is still the King of Kentucky.” and “Freyda is still the Queen of Oklahoma and has never regretted her bargain with Eric.”  Um really?  That’s it?  Yes we get more information when we read Eric’s update but still this is annoying.

Bill and Sookie’s  updates are much longer and well worth the read as are several other of the main characters updates.  All in all I’d say read this before you buy it, borrow it from a friend, check it out from the library, something and if you like it enough to spend the money do it.  Or maybe wait and get it when it comes out in paperback.  Just don’t go into it expecting some majorly comprehensive update of the characters, this is really just more for fun.

Leave a Reply

