Betty Hechtman Mysteries: A surprising find!

9780425221259_p0_v1_s260x420In the mood for a good mystery?

My rediscovery of mysteries came with the release of Betty Hechtman’s crochet mysteries, series starting with Hooked on Murder. I’m a crocheter, my grandma taught me and I’d been searching for books with crocheters in them as most of the “yarn-related fiction” centered on knitters.  Now let me be clear I have nothing against knitters, I even know how to knit.  I simply prefer to crochet and was really noticing the absolute dearth of crochet-centric books.  Now that being said I have read some of those knitting-centric books and enjoyed them, especially the Blossom Street books by Debbie Macomber, which I’ll review at some point in the future, there is a new one due out soon.

Finding Hooked on Murder was a complete accident.  I was searching a list of crochet books on the library website, looking for pattern books when lo and 9780425225004_p0_v1_s260x420behold there it was just what I’d been searching for a fiction book with crochet.  Squee!  So I checked it out only to find it was the first in a series… double Squee!  I immediately but the first three books on hold and have been watching for each new book to be released since then.

Molly Pink is a widow, her husband of many years passed a year ago.  In the time since she has gotten a job as event planner at Shedd and Royal Books.  Part of her job is to supervise the weekly crochet group, the Tarzana Hookers.  Molly is not a crocheter herself and the leader of the group Ellen Sheridan was her husband’s partner in his public relations firm.  After her husband’s death Ellen forced Molly to sell her the other half of the firm.  Why does this matter, well one day Ellen leaves a bag of books at the bookstore.  Molly decides to do the kind thing and return them, however what she finds is Ellen murdered and she becomes the prime suspect.  Molly decides not to rely on the police to solve the crime as the detective that interrogates her has a 9780425228388_p0_v1_s260x420personal interest in Molly’s new significant other. (Molly hates the term boyfriend for a man in his 50s.)  During the course of the book Molly and her best friend Dinah learn to crochet and join the Hookers.

There are seven other books in the crochet mysteries series: Dead Men Don’t Crochet, By Hook or by Crook, A Stitch in Crime, You Better Knot Die, Behind the Seams, If Hooks Could Kill, and the newest (a post of it’s own) For Better or Worsted.

I love this series for multiple reasons: Molly truly is an ameture detective and as such makes mistakes, I have yet to guess the who the murderer is which I have easily done in other mysteries I’ve read since starting this set, every book contains at least one crochet pattern and a recipe.  Another thing that spoke to me was Molly’s co-worker Adele’s tirade about crochet being looked down on by knitters.  Now I have met knitters that think crochet is cool, I’ve met crafters that do both, but I have also had that experience of being looked down on because crochet is my yarn craft of choice and it was in a yarn store.  Fortunately it does seem the climate of yarnies is becoming one of more evenness.  Sorry that was a bit off topic.  All in all, this is a great set of books you should totally check out whether you crochet, knit, macrame, tat, or none of the above.

Leave a Reply

