Chicken Soup

9781623611071_p0_v1_s260x420Teaching can be incredibly difficult, and at the same time incredibly rewarding.  We’ll continue this week to honor teachers, today we’re sharing Chicken Soup for the Teacher’s Soul.  This is a book that anyone could enjoy, and what could be more comforting or reassuring than chicken soup?

I love this book!  Ok now that I have that out of the way 😉  I was on a kick for a while collecting the Chicken Soup books, when this one came out I knew I had to have it.  My husband bought it for me and it has lived in my classroom(s) ever since.  When I have a day where I’m feeling down or frustrated as a teacher this is one of the resources I reach to.  I keep it near my desk so I can reach back and pull it out, all I need to do is open to any story and read and I find myself reenergized, ready to go again.  That sounds really corny I know, but it’s true.

The book is divided into 11 sections much like other Chicken Soup books here the sections are: A Day in the Life, Answering the Call, Love in the Classroom, Defining Moments, Making a Difference, The Classics, Overcoming Obstacles, Beyond the Classroom, Learning by Teaching, Insights and Lessons, and Thanks.

My favorite story in the book, the one I go back to most often, the one that I am able to flip right to is All the Good Things section six The Classics: the story of a teacher worried about her class becoming frustrated with themselves and each other.  She stops and has them write one positive thing about each person in the class.  She takes these and makes each student a list then hands those lists out to the students.  Years later at the funeral of one of the students she discovers they all kept their lists.  This story makes me cry every time!  Actually many of these stories make me cry.  Some also make me laugh or smile.  The comics especially make me giggle.

This is a great book to give to any teacher, student teacher, principal, counselor, basically any school employee.  This is also a great book for parents to read, you want to know what your child’s teacher’s day might be like read these stories.  I don’t think these are stories of just exceptional teachers, there are teachers in every school, in every city, in every country in the world that work hard day in and day out to reach children to help them be the best they can be.  This is what teachers aspire to.  So if you’ve never read this book go check it out and maybe buy another copy to give to an educator in your life be they family, an educator of your child’s or even one of your former teachers.https://support.google.com/docs/?p=crop_images&hl=en

Leave a Reply

