Bedtime Books

9780394800912_p0_v2_s260x420Like Amy, one of my favorite times of day has always been bedtime reading to my son. Now my kiddo is 9 years old but we still read every night, hubby and I take turns. For the most part we have graduated to reading chapter books but just a few weeks ago he got back on a children’s book kick specifically my old favorite bedtime read: Dr. Seuss’s Sleep Book.

We’ve been reading this one to him since he was little bitty. I love it! Read it nice and slow and quiet and it really will leave you yawning. Or read it for fun fast and loud and giggle over the silly Seussian creatures and how they sleep. (Side note my computer recognizes Seussian as a word, that should give us all some hint of the man’s impact on the world).

I wanted to share some of our other favorite bedtime books just in case you’re looking for something new, or maybe to remind you of something old.

From the time I was pregnant until we hit the chapter book stage there were three books we read over and over. Yes we were one of those couples that read to my belly lol. The first is Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, we read it so many times hubby and I both had it memorized but T just loved it. As he got older we would recite it to him randomly during the day in funny voices and he would laugh until he got hiccups. On nights when he was up sick we would sit beside his bed and whisper it to help him calm down. Not long ago we were talking about our old bedtime favorites and discovered that though it’s been years since we’ve read it between the two of us hubby and I can still recite the whole book.

9780060775858_p0_v3_s260x420The next book we read almost every night was Goodnight Moon. A classic, and another one we can still recite after all this time. We haven’t pulled it back out to read but we just might have to do that. There are some great parodies out there of this book. Amy already posted about Goodnight iPad, which I love, there is also a Goodnight Goon, that’s probably one I need to pull out for the kiddo. I’m pretty sure he’d love it.

There was another Dr. Seuss book that we read frequently, yet another book we memorized: The Foot Book. I think one of the advantages of the Dr. S books is that they just flow so well, they’re so easy and so fun to read any time of the day or night.

There was one book that I found I loved to read, hubby not so much but maybe it was that I was teaching communication arts (English) at the time and it’s full of onomatopoeia. The Quiet Farmer by Marni McGee, the title alone tells you it’s a great soft bedtime story, or a great calm the kiddos down story. It’s a sweet day in the life of a farmer filled with the sounds of the farm.

As far as chapter books go I think my favorite to read has been The Wizard of Oz. There are some big differences from the movie but the heart of the story is the same and well worth the read.

So what are your favorite books to read to your kids at bedtime?

Leave a Reply

