New Fiction Friday: The Silkworm

9780316206877_p0_v19_s260x420Just a few days ago I finally finished The Silkworm.  Following the next great mystery for private investigator Comoran Strike, Silkworm picks up right where The Cuckoo’s Calling left off.  If you’re unfamiliar with the work of Robert Galbraith, it is the pseudonym of J.K. Rowling.  As a huge fan of all things Harry Potter, I was interested to see what her next project would be.  She is incredibly creative, and it’s so surprising that she would tackle mystery after her Harry success. I know I’m in the minority here – but I think I actually like this series better than Harry (which is saying a lot because I devoured each book in that series!).  I love mystery, and I loved Strike.

In the beginning of the first book Strike was introduced on a very bad day.  He has just left his live-in girlfriend of many years, and is now forced to live in the office he’s established for his PI business.  A secretary named Robin shows up on his doorstep first thing in the morning – sent by a temp agency Strike forgot that he had hired.  Robin is intimidated by Strike – and by the challenge of getting his business in order – yet quickly organizes the office and prooves she’s an assistant he can’t live without.  Strike is newly single, and Robin has recently moved to London to be near her fiance Matthew.  It seems inevitable that Robin and Strike will get together – but Galbraith does not give the reader that satisfaction.

Strike was attempting to establish his business when he gets an incredible opportunity.  One of the country’s most popular celebrities has died, and London police have declared it a suicide.  Her family is not convinced, and seek out Strike’s help.  With Robin’s help Strike is able to pick up the investigation where London detectives left off (or gave up).  Because this is such a high-profile case, and because of Lula Landry (the dead super model) had left her family very wealthy, it boosts his business significantly.  Silkworm starts just weeks after the Lula Landry case was closed.  Robin and Strike are swamped with new business, and everyone in London knows Strike is the detective who did what London police could not.

The second major case they tackle is the murder of a struggling writer named Owen Quine.  Quine’s wife had hired Strike’s agency to investigate his disappearance.  When Strike discovers the man’s body, and the wife is arrested for Quine’s murder, the investigation takes a different path.  Robin, after the experience helping investigate Landry’s murder, wants to work alongside Strike on this case.  Causing tension in the case is her fiance, who can’t stand the two of them working so intimately together.  Right before Quine’s death he had delivered his latest novel to his publisher.  The most disturbing thing about the murder investigation is that his death copies the end scene of the book.

A few weeks ago I got this book for my birthday (along with Mr. Mercedes which I will be reading next!).  As soon as I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down, of course if I had to put it down I couldn’t wait to pick it back up again!!  I love J.K. Rowling’s ability to not only try out a new genre, but actually be great at it!  I can’t wait to see what she writes next!  I’m not sure when the next Comoran Strike novel comes out – but I  am on the edge of my seat!

2 thoughts on “New Fiction Friday: The Silkworm

Leave a Reply

