New Fiction Friday: Still Foolin’ Em

9781250051844_p0_v2_s260x420So many celebrities have tried their hand at writing (many that I suspect weren’t actually that involved with the writing process, just had really good “co-writers”).  We were pleasantly surprised by Still Foolin’ Em, which is just now being published in paperback.  I love Billy Crystal but I hadn’t heard of this book until my mom started reading it and talking about it, and talking and talking and talking.  Needless to say I went to pick it up from the library.  This is one of those books by someone famous where you can almost hear their voice in your head as you read.  Billy is funny and insightful and honest.  I literally laughed out loud several times.

As Billy tells his life story he alternates between near rambling about present day life at 65 and his past.  We learn about him growing up one of three boys.  We learn about his father’s death at a fairly young age and how his family reacted to that.  Billy it seems from a young age knew a lot of celebrities and he talks about how he met them.

He takes us through his life decade by decade.  His life as a newlywed, new father, and stand-up comedian.  This book was really easy to read and I just couldn’t put it down.  Interspersed throughout the book rather than in one section at the middle as in most biographies are pictures of Billy, his family, and those he knows and loves.  There are numerous stories about Muhammad Ali who has become a good friend of his.

In one chapter towards the end he kind of goes off, we get that grumpy old man rant.  I found myself either nodding in agreement or shaking my head wondering if this was just an old age thing, if it was a different lifestyle point of view, or just what in the world is he thinking?

I think my favorite part of the book is when he talks about hosting the Oscars, he is still my favorite Oscar host by far.  I wish he would do it again.  We see him go through ups and downs in life and Hollywood.  His stories about playing Jodie on Soap are particularly interesting to me as I remember watching the show as a kid.  I’d give you more details but I just can’t tell it the way he does besides it’s his story to tell and I’d rather let him do it.  This may be the shortest review I ever write, sorry about that I just can’t say more than you really should read this book.  I own 700 Sundays, bought it for my classroom library and somehow never read it so I’ll be picking it up to read shortly, maybe I can give a better review of it.

9780061450570_p0_v2_s260x420This actually isn’t his first book, he has a couple of children’s books which about his experiences as a grandparent.  I remember the first time I saw one of his books, I was browsing Barnes and Noble with my daughter who was just a few months old at the time.  My Dad had just passed away, and I knew I wasn’t really ready for this book.  I read it anyways, and absolutely loved it.  I Already Know I Love You was so sweet, it’s about a grandpa who just can’t wait to meet his grandchild.  It’s still on my daughter’s book shelf, and it’s one of many things that have helped me heal.  In his movies, his comedy, and in his books Billy Crystal is able to make us laugh!  Right now, I think we could all use a little laughter in our lives.

Leave a Reply

