Day 10

IMG_2975DAY 10. – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

Kelly

Back in high school I had run out of books to read.  My boyfriend had left his book in my car and desperate to read something I picked it up sure I wouldn’t like it, after all “it was a fantasy book ugh”.  Yeah I was not the most open minded reader back then.  The book was The Crystal Shard by R.A. Salvatore, part of his Dark Elf series.  I read well over a hundred pages that first night and didn’t want to give the book back to my boyfriend, he managed to get it back by giving me the prequel trilogy to read.  That was when I learned to give any genre a try.  I now own 13 of the books in that series.  Yep a good lesson for me.

Amy

Wow!  This is a tough one!  I totally loved Dear Life (Alice Munro), and didn’t really expect to like it.  I’m not a big short story fan, but last year I read two short story collections and loved them both.  Dear Life was collectively amazing, and I also loved This is How Lose Her by Junot Diaz.  I normally don’t read short stories at all – but I’m glad I gave these two a chance.  I love Diaz’s work and loved this collection.  Munro has had a long writing career, and this may be one of her last books.  There was something in each story that touched me, and the stories themselves were somewhat interconnected.  I may not have officially changed my opinion about short stories, yet I was pleasantly surprised by these two books!

One thought on “Day 10

Leave a Reply

