Day 13

IMG_2975DAY 13. – A book that disappointed you.

Kelly

Well the newest in the Angel Island series like I said on Day 1.  While I liked the very end of Allegiant by Veronica Roth the middle of the book was a bit of a disappointment to me.  Shadows in Flight by Orson Scott Card was a disappointment because I thought it was to be the book that tied the Ender books to the Shadow books, the story was good. I own it and have reread it but I was waiting for that culmination of the series and it has yet to come.

There was another book I read recently that disappointed me.  The newest in the Merry Gentry series by Laurell K Hamilton.  I usually love her books but something about A Shiver of Light that felt rushed, maybe a bit forced, it just didn’t seem to read as smoothly as her previous Merry books.  Things were repeated in the book itself not just information that was in a previous book but from an early chapter in a later chapter.  A lot happened but still I just felt kind of meh at the end and that made me sad because I so look forward to Laurell’s books.  OK WAIT biggest disappointment in a book the adult Sweet Valley books.  I was so excited to see them on the shelf at the library and so let down when I read them.  I’m not going to say more bc I think I said it all on June 16.

Amy

I’m calling out a book that got a lot of great reviews but I didn’t like it at all.  Dare Me by Megan Abbott was about two teenage girls with some really dark secrets.  So it’s a dark story, I knew that going in.  I’m not the type of reader who expects a happy ending in every book.  These two girls, who happen to be cheerleaders, were lying, backstabbing, and very competitive.  I kind of get it – girls can be mean, especially the cheerleader type.  This story takes that over  the top – with a possible murder (possible suicide), and a hinted-at affair between one of the cheerleaders and a much older man.  If the title refers to the daring behavior of teenage girls – or a truth or dare game – it’s one I hope most girls won’t play.

One thought on “Day 13

Leave a comment