Day 22

IMG_2975DAY 22. – Least favourite plot device employed by way too many books you actually enjoyed otherwise.

Kelly

Not sure if it’s an official plot device but I have gotten so over reading books where the woman has realized she’s in love and she keeps it a secret then finally tells the guy she’s in a relationship with that she loves him.  He freaks out and takes off, then he realizes he’s also madly in love with her, meanwhile she’s having a “He sucks” pity party with her friends.  He comes back and makes some grand gesture and they love happily ever after.  UGH!  You know if this weren’t so frequent I don’t think it would bother me as much.  Thank goodness there are a few authors out there that have figured out how to switch it up and make it the woman that freaks out, or they both love each other but there are other obstacles, or at least give the man a really decent reason for holding back like in Emily March’s first Eternity Springs book: Angel’s Rest.  I felt for both Nic and Gabriel in this book.  I could see both sides and it made it a much better book for me.

Amy

I have to say that I hate it when characters die.  I know sometimes the death of a character can be an important part of the plot.  Sometimes characters are killed off unnecessarily in order to evoke a certain emotion in readers.  I’ve read a few Jodi Picolt books.  I know that she has many fans – but a few years ago I vowed to never read another one of her books, ever.  This is plot device she uses in almost all of her books – there’s either a death, or a deep dark secret, all to hijack your feelings.  Hate it!

3 thoughts on “Day 22

  1. kedavis99 says:

    Yeah I’m not a fan of the someone has to die in every book plot device too unless it’s a mystery series then it makes sense as that’s usually the driving plot point.

Leave a Reply

