Our Christmas List

Have you finished your Christmas shopping yet?  I haven’t – but am hoping to finish soon.  Time is running out!!  Books are some of my favorite presents, both to give and to get.  As we all get our Christmas lists ready, we wanted to share what books are on our lists this year.  There are a few books that have just come out that I’m super excited about reading, and hope I find them under our tree Christmas morning!

9780307700230_p0_v1_s260x420I loved watching The Roosevelts, Ken Burns’s latest documentary miniseries on PBS.  I’ve always been fascinated by Teddy and Franklin, and as a history teacher I love talking about them.  The accompanying book that was recently released follows the histories of both men, and the story that is told about them in the series.

9781476770383_p0_v4_s260x420I am dying to read Revival, which was released just last month, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it!  It’s at the top of my Christmas list this year!  When was the last King book released?  I’m not totally sure, but I look forward to each of his new books.  This latest book focuses on a tragedy that happens in a small community Maine.  A local preacher loses his wife and young child, and spends years tortured by the loss.

9781476708690_p0_v8_s260x420The Innovators is also on my list.  Written by Walter Isaacson, it traces the origins of our modern technology.  It includes a biography of Steve Jobs, but it takes the history of computer technology farther back than the 1970s and 80s.  I recently heard an interview with the author, and was fascinated by the individuals he writes about, and their contribution to the evolution of technology.  I think this might be a must-read!

A friend recently introduced me to the blog 100 Days of Real Food, and I love it.  Written by9780062252555_p0_v5_s260x420 Lisa Leake, this is more than just a cookbook – it’s a movement.  I’m putting her book on my Christmas list, and real food on my New Year’s resolutions list.  We Heart Cooking is another recipe book on my list.  Published by Cooking Light, the book is intended to get kids interested in cooking and eating healthier food.  My 4 year old, like most kids, has an aversion to vegetables.  Anything to get her eating more of them would be great – and anything to get kids in the kitchen is great in my book!

I’ve been a very good girl this year, and I hope that Santa is good to me!!  😉  I hope I find some of these books under my tree on Christmas morning.  I’ve bought a bunch of new books for my daughter, and I’m looking forward to reading some new books with her.  What books are on your list this year?

Leave a Reply

