Yoga Sparks

9781608827008_p0_v3_s260x420Is exercise one of your resolutions?  It might be – it’s always one of the most popular ones, making January one of the best times to buy exercise gear, workout DVDs, and …  Personally I’ve been wanting to buy a treadmill and am hoping to score a good deal.  One of my goals for the new year is to add yoga to my daily routine.  I’m not a huge fan of yoga – if I want to work out or exercise I feel like I need to sweat.  I have done yoga, and I do find it so relaxing and helpful, so I’m challenging myself!  I’ve been a runner for a long time.  Not a “runner” as in I run marathons, but a runner.

I regularly run and rarely stretch – and I know I need to.  Without stretching my legs are so sore than it prevents me from running as fast – or as long as I’d like to.  After browsing the health and fitness books at Barnes and Noble recently I picked up Yoga Sparks.  There were a variety of books on yoga this one was readable, easy to read and easy to use.

But why yoga?  It’s incredibly relaxing and calming – which is something I think we all could use.  “Yoga is a powerful form of mind-body medicine that approaches health in a holistic manner, recognizing that physical ailments also have emotional and spiritual components…Yoga teaches that it’s not just what you do, but also ho you do it that matters.”

To make it even easier to keep up with this new goal I use the yoga app as well.  It was recently ranked as one of the best fitness apps, it’s easy to use and allows you to choose a certain amount of time, and what areas you want to focuses on, and creates a custom workout.  My daughter has been taking a yoga class at her preschool.  It’s super cute, and way more organized than I could have imagined.  I’ve peeked in on the class a few times and it looks fun!  For a 4 year old she has a great memory and is always proud of the new “yoga moves” she’s learning.  If she can do yoga than so can I!

Any yoga fans out there to cheer us on?  Or any one who’s willing to share their fitness goals for the new year?  We’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

