100 Days of Real Food

9780062252555_p0_v5_s260x420A while ago a friend turned me on to the blog, 100 Days of Real Food.  I absolutely love it – it offers  advice for healthier living, and practical and useful recipes that most families can eat together.  On the blog she has shared her journey from what she felt was an average family – eating the same foods she had grown up on (I can relate – I grew up on Lunchables, fruity pebbles and Kraft mac & cheese).  Recently the woman behind the blog, Lisa Leake, published a book filled with tips on clean eating, and delicious recipes.  This book was on my Christmas list and I was so happy to unwrap it on Christmas morning!!

She includes tips on how to navigate the grocery store, quickly scan food labels and nutrition facts, and what to avoid.  If healthier eating was one of your resolutions, you might just love this book – especially if you have picky kids to feed.  In following the blog, and reading the blog, she urges you to take the “100 Days of Real Food Pledge”.  The Pledge is quite a challenge – but it’s worth it.  She also examines the “real food impact on our health”, and one of her conclusions after the 100 day challenge is that she felt better.  She also felt better about the food she was feeding her family.

unnamed-1One of my favorite recipes is something incredibly simple – making your own microwave popcorn.  I made it for the first time the same day I got the book – it’s become one of my favorite snacks, and much healthier version than the pre-packaged stuff.  Another one of my favorites is this recipe for the PB&J Smoothie.  I actually got a new blender for Christmas and love making smoothies with it.

PB&J Smoothie

1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup apple juice
1/3 cup natural peanut butter
1 to 2 ripe bananas
1 cup frozen or fresh berries (if using fresh, add a handful of ice cubes as well)

Enjoy!  Since getting the book and the new blender for Christmas I’ve been the queen of smoothies.  I can’t wait to tackle some of the other recipes in the book!

Leave a Reply

