15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 14

unnamedSo, as a reader, do you have any deal breakers?  Day 14 is asking us to share ours:

Kel – I’m assuming this means when it comes to books. Poorly written books lose me fast.  I read the first chapter of 50 Shades on the B&N website and just couldn’t.  There was no way, if you like books of that genre there are better written books out there.  Books with lots of editing mistakes.  Books that are incredibly wordy in their descriptions may be why I’ve never finished The Simarillion by J.R.R. Tolkein, and why Goblet of Fire was not my fave HP book.  I really wanted to take a red pen to sections of it.  Books where I can’t maintain my suspension of disbelief lose me.  Dry nonfiction, I prefer my nonfiction to be at least partly narrative.

Amy – I have a few deal breakers – and because I’m picky about what I read, I won’t even pick up a book if I don’t think I’m going to like it.  One thing I really don’t like – and Kel is kind of hinting at it here, is books that are too wordy.  I always tell my students that it’s not the quantity of their words, it’s the quality.  I’m not afraid to read long books – I love Stephen King, and his books are often in the thousand page plus category.  But, in those many many pages I never think it’s too long or too wordy.  That for me is a deal breaker!

What are your deal breakers??

Leave a Reply

