Are you well-read?

unnamedLast week I saw this article on Time.com, about being well-read.   As an avid reader, I read everything.  I would consider myself relatively well-read, yet I know there are things that I should be reading, and some “must-reads” I haven’t gotten to yet.  The article not only has a list of books that are must-reads, there are also categories.  So in order to be well-read, there are books to be read and new genres to explore.

The categories include Western Classics, Dystopia, Great American Novels, Science Fiction and Fantasy, Literary Heavy Hitters, Popular Fiction, Immigrant Experience, Non-Western Classics, and Satire.  I admit that I’m not a huge fan of science fiction or fantasy.  Also included in their list are The Lord of the Rings books, which I have tried a few times to get through and just can’t.  I know Kel is a big fan, and has read the through the series several times.

So many of the books are required reading for students.  I first read The Odyssey in high school, and I remember loving Anna Karenina in college.  I have assigned The Grapes of Wrath to my students, and believe this is the best book in American literature.  The Great Gatsby is also on the list – another book that most students are forced to read.

I love that The Hunger Games trilogy is on the list, as they have become modern classics.  I’m still wondering why the 50 Shades of Grey series is on here.  Yes, they are popular, yes almost every woman I know as read them.  I admit to reading them too, though I’m still wondering why…

With this list, I have more books to my to be read list.  I’ve always wanted to read A Tale of Two Cities, and I’d really like to read How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents, which was on the list in the immigrant experience category.  This of course, is not the definitive list of great books, or must-read books.  I would definitely have added something by Toni Morrison to the list.  There are some I think are left off here, and some (ahem…, 50 Shades) that I think should not be on there.

What do you think of the list?  What books have you read and loved, and what books would you add to the list?

One thought on “Are you well-read?

Leave a Reply

