Summer Reading

unnamedIt is finally summer!!  School isn’t actually out here yet, but will be next week.  I’m teaching summer school, so I don’t have as much free time as I would like.  And Kel is currently vacationing in Florida, making me super jealous to have my toes in the sand.  As I type, she may be sipping on something tropical!  My good news is that my husband is finally home from a 10-month deployment that I thought would never end.  So, our summer has unofficially begun.

I’m looking forward to more down time this summer, at the pool, at the beach, and just relaxing.  No matter where we’ll be this summer, these are some of the books I’m looking forward to:

At the Water’s Edge – Sara Gruen

Beauty’s Kingdom – Anne Rice  This is another series in her Sleeping Beauty series.  This was originally a trilogy, so this will be the fourth book in the series.  I loved the first three books and can’t wait to read this one.  Seriously, E L James has nothing on Anne Rice!!

Finder’s Keepers – Stephen King

In the Unlikely Event – Judy Blume

Royal Wedding – Meg Cabot  Cabot is one of my guilty pleasures, and I can’t wait to read the next chapter in Princess Mia’s ongoing story!

Summer Secrets – Jane Green

The Wright Brothers – David McCullough

American Wife – Taya Kyle  I read American Sniper and was so surprised that it was so good.  I also really loved the movie – which closely followed the details Kyle wrote about in the book.  His wife lived through several deployments, his transition to civilian life, and his tragic death.  The book also shares a title with one of my favorite books ever, written by Curtis Sittenfeld.

Primates of Park Avenue – Wednesday Martin

Endless Summer Cookbook – Katie Lee  A few weeks ago I wrote about the start of my garden.  I’m hoping this is the perfect book to use all of the tomatoes, squash, basil, and peppers I’m growing.

I hope you can find a hammock, lawn chair, or beach towel to relax and enjoy a new book!

Leave a Reply

