Birthday Brags

9781594633669_p0_v3_s192x300So Monday was my birthday.  I want it to be my last birthday ever, but don’t think I can really avoid turning 40 next year (yikes!!). But seriously, keep the cake and the presents coming!!  My husband finally came home 3 weeks ago, which has been great.  He wasn’t home last year on my birthday, so having him home for Father’s Day and my birthday was really nice.

There were several books on my bday list this year.  Along with a new stash of books, over the weekend I actually went to Barnes and Noble by myself!  Basically, like a mini vacation.  Not only do have a stack of new books to read, I also have a bunch more books to put on my TBR list!  With a caramel macchiato in hand, and a spare hour to browse around B&N, I’m dangerous!  I also picked up a couple of new journals – I know I’m not alone in my stationary/cute office supply obsession.

unnamed-2On my birthday list was The Girl on the Train, which I had been dying to read.  A friend raved about it – and I’m already halfway through, and not disappointed!!  I also got Finders Keepers, which is the sequel to Mr. Mercedes.  I read that last summer, it had actually been a birthday gift last year.  I had been wanting The Endless Summer Cookbook, and can’t wait to test out some of the recipes. First up will probably be the fish tacos.

Oh, and then there was the cake.  Honestly, the best cake I have ever tasted (and I eat a lot of cake!!).  The salted caramel cake from Whole Foods is amazing – something you must try!  I’m so thankful for friends and family, good books, and finally having my husband home!!

Leave a Reply

