Book to Screen: Harry Potter

unnamedSo I love the Harry Potter books, I’ve read them all more times than I can count at this point. Some of the movies are great adaptations others are just ok so let’s take them one by one.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, or in the UK the Philosopher’s Stone:  Ok so this movie does suffer some from the fact that the child actors are just that, children.  There are few actors who are outstanding as children but you know what it’s ok that they’re a bit stiff at times, it’s still a great story.  I was thrilled at seeing Hogwarts, the choice in so many of the professors seemed so dead on, can you even imagine anyone else as Snape or McGonagall? This was a good adaptation.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: I think one of my biggest disappointments throughout the entire series was the lack of Ginny, she just is so much less a character in the movies than in the book.  Labeled Ginny the lamp online she really is unimpressive, however in this movie considering her crush on Harry and nerves about this it works.  Again a good adaptation, loved Moaning Myrtle.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: Oh I love Gary Oldman, and David Thewlis was amazing, Hermione punching Draco, sigh…  Even the unfortunate loss of Richard Harris as Dumbledore does not harm the movie as Michael Gambon puts his own spin on the character.  I can’t remember anything that really jumped out at me as something missing.  Another good adaptation.

And here we end this post with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, yeah not my favorite movie in the series, then again not my favorite book in the series.  This was the book that had me feeling like someone should have taken a red pen to it, Rowling began to reach Tolkein levels of description, which is not good thing for a kids book, and can be tedious even in adult books.  I wished this had been two movies instead, the first centering mainly on the Quiddich World Cup and ending with Harry’s name coming out of the Goblet, then the second movie could have been the Tri-Wizard tournament.   I missed Winky, I missed Dobby helping instead of Neville though I got over that as the movies continued.  Overall this movie just felt like it rushed through, and I think it ended up being my least favorite adaptation of the series.

Next time books 5-7.  What did you think of the first 4 HP movies?

Leave a Reply

