Book to Screen: Harry Potter Part 2!

unnamedTime to talk about the last three books/ four movies of the Harry Potter series. I have to tell you I saw movies 1-5 in the theatre, 6 & 7 on DVD, then 8 again in the theatre with a fistful of tissues.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Time for a bit of honesty the first time I read this book I wanted to yank Harry out of the book and smack him, his attitude at the beginning was making me crazy. Might have had something to do with teaching middle school at the time LOL. The second time I wanted to smack Ron and Hermione for not understanding just why Harry was so upset and rather than just apologizing they just seemed to keep making excuses. The movie was another good adaptation. I really enjoyed the scenes of Harry “seeing into” Voldemort’s mind. I missed meeting Neville’s parents at St. Mungo’s that just seemed like such a big plot point to skip. Again what a great casting, Umbridge was so easy to hate, easier even than in the book, the little giggle was just so incredibly irritating. I think I cheered more when the centaurs take her away in the movie than I did in the book. Overall this was a good adaptation.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince: I was so sad that they changed the beginning of the story, I was just waiting to see Dumbledore sit in the living room with Vernon and Petunia, watching the glasses knock them in the head and nada! The fire at the Burrow at Christmas that came out of nowhere is a great movie scene but I know it bothered some fans of the books. My own sister has said she will buy and watch all of the other movies but she refuses to ever own HBP. As I’ve watched it again and again I’ve decided that I like the movie on it’s own I do NOT like it as an adaptation.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1: I love that they split this book into two movies. I know there are those that complain the first movie is too slow but I think those complainers haven’t read the book to know just how slow the first half does seem to move. That’s ok though because it just builds the anticipation for the second half. There were things I missed from the book to the movie the one that stood out to me most though was the portrait of Phineas Nigellus Black, but as that portrait doesn’t appear in Order then I guess it would be odd to pull it in now. I loved the 7 Harrys scene, though I have been bothered movie after movie with the Polyjuice Potion and the fact that the characters voices don’t change to match who they look like, with the exception of Mad Eye in Goblet, and um why does Barty Crouch Jr.’s voice change but no one else’s does? I guess it’s a matter of trying to make things easier for movie watchers who have not read the books to keep track of who’s who after the potion has been drunk but it’s one of those little details that’s bothered me. Overall though I liked this adaptation.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2: I think this is my favorite movie of the entire series, I’ve rewatched both of the last two so many times. I cried throughout this entire movie, altered with cheers. The only change that really bothered me from book to movie was Voldemort being in in the boathouse rather than the Creaking Shack, come on take us back there, make us go past the Whomping Willow, geez! Dame Maggie’s delivery of the spell to activate the statues to defend Hogwarts and then the gleeful “I’ve always wanted to use that spell” was the perfect tension breaker and I could not have been MORE thrilled with Molly Weasley’s battle with Bellatrix! The change in how Harry is discovered or revealed at Hogwarts is not my favorite, I was just waiting to see him jump to McGonagall’s defense when she’s spit on, but then again I loved her battle with Snape. Oh Snape, the tears when he dies knowing already what’s coming, then the memories oh wow. Neville standing up to Voldemort was wonderful but again I missed the pointing out at how his spells against everyone fail to hold because Harry died for everyone voluntarily as his mother died for him. Breaking the Elder Wand and throwing it away I think wouldn’t have bothered me so much if he’d just used it to repair his wand first. Overall I do like this adaptation.

By the way, if anyone hasn’t had the chance yet you should watch both parts of Deathly Hallows in Maximum Movie Mode, lots of behind the scenes moments and actors reading parts of the books. Part 1 is hosted by Lucius Malfoy, who btw total hottie out of costume, and part 2 by the now adorable Neville.

So what did you think of these last four adaptations of the HP books?

Leave a Reply

