Kelly’s Summer Reading

unnamedWell summer is not done yet as I type this on August 19th, but the Summer Reading program here at my library ended Aug 1st.  While I’ve done a lot of reading I haven’t done nearly as much as in past summers which is ok because to be honest in the past I’ve often read many many books that I’d read before.  This summer as of now my number stands at 28 but well over half of those are new reads and for a change for me I have a lot more nonfiction books on my list. I thought I’d share the list of books I read with maybe a few words on each, don’t worry there will be longer posts on some as well. 🙂

  1. The Fellowship of the Ring – second time I read it
  2. The Hobbit – read to kiddo at night
  3. Hold Me by Susan Mallery new book in the Fool’s Gold series
  4. The Return of the Shadow by Christopher and JRR Tolkien – this is the story of how JRR wrote the LOTR series, well at least the beginning of how it was really interesting to see the changes he made as he wrote
  5. The Two Towers
  6. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – movies were playing on ABC family a lot and I felt the need to reread to look at what was missing from the movies
  7. Extra Credit by Andrew Clements – read to kiddo at bedtime, I love his books
  8. Chesapeake Blue by Nora Roberts – beach read
  9. Summer Island by Kristin Hannah – beach read
  10. A Friend or Two by Debbie Macomber -pool read
  11. No Competition by Debbie Macomber – pool read
  12. Texts from Jane Eyre – Amy recommended it to me
  13. The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe – the beginning of my Space kick
  14. A New Hope by Robyn Carr – newest Thunder Point novel
  15. Dead Ice by Laurell K Hamilton – newest Anita Blake novel
  16. Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess – summer book study with some of my fellow teachers
  17. Failure is Not an Option by Gene Kranz – first read last year and reviewed, I’ve read it twice since, LOVE this book
  18. Earthrise by Edgar Mitchell – Apollo 14 astronaut
  19. Falling to Earth by Al Worden – Apollo 15 astronaut
  20. Voices from the Moon by Andrew Chaikin
  21. Apollo: Through the Eyes of the Astronauts by Robert Jacobs pictures taken and selected by the Apollo astronauts themselves
  22. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Col. Chris Hadfield – shuttle and ISS astronaut
  23. Astronaut’s Wives Club by Lily Koppel – read last year and reviewed rereading because of the tv show which was the spark for my space kick this summer, thanks Amy 😉 lol
  24. Forever Young by John Young – Gemini, Apollo, and shuttle astronaut
  25. Apollo 11 Remembered by Piers Bizony – a look back and a look forward
  26. But For the Grace of God by William R Pogue – Skylab astronaut
  27. Spacewalker by Jerry L. Ross – shuttle astronaut tied for most launches
  28. Mission Control: This is Apollo by Andrew Chaikin with paintings by Al Bean Apollo 12 astronaut

I’m just now starting Neil Armstrong A Life of Flight by Jay Barbee, NBC news correspondent almost since the beginning of NASA.  I have a big queue of other biographies, memoirs, and books on the space program on hold.  I have also found some wonderful movies and documentaries about the space program.  I’ll write at least a post or two about my space “study” later.  So how about you?  What have you read this summer? New books? Old favorites?  Maybe a Mix?  Share with us.

Leave a Reply

