My Christmas List

I hope there are some good books for me under the Christmas tree this year.  I’ve been a very good girl this year!  I’ve bought of new books for my daughter, Santa knows how much she loves getting new books.  I love getting new books – these ones are all on my Christmas list this year, along with a few others.  I also have some down time during the holidays, and this is the perfect way to spend my Christmas break!

9780062225245_p0_v4_s192x300The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Dinnertime – I can’t wait to try out some of these new recipes!  She hosts my favorite show on the Food Network, and I love all of her recipe books.  Her recipes are delicious, and are kind of my go-to.

9780385354288_p0_v5_s192x300The Girl in the Spider’s Web – So this wasn’t written by Steig Larson, but it continues the story of Lizbeth Salander.  The original trilogy was great – each book was impossible to put down. I can’t wait to see where the series goes, even without Larson.  This is book #4 in the series, and apparently there are more planned after this.

9780316349932_p0_v4_s192x300Career of Evil – This is the 3rd book in the Comoran Strike, the mystery series written under J.K. Rowling’s penn name, Robert Galbraith.  I was shocked by how great the first two books were – although I really shouldn’t have been.  I’m thinking now that Ms. Rowling can do no wrong.  This book is #1 on my Christmas list – I can’t wait to read it!!  I actually bought the first book in the series for my Mom for Christmas and I know she’ll love it!

9780804138147_p0_v6_s192x300Why Not Me?  – I love Mindy Kaling, and I loved her first book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?  I have a feeling this one is just as good, and I can’t wait to read it!

Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates – As a history teacher, one of my favorite historical figures to read about is Thomas Jefferson.  There has been so much written about him already, and there continuously seem to be 9781591848066_p0_v2_s192x300more and more about him.  This topic of the Tripoli Pirates is something I don’t know much about – yet sounds so interesting.  This is also about the lead-up to the War of 1812, something most of my students know nothing about at the beginning of every semester.

What’s on your Christmas list this year?  Any good books on your list?  Also on my list are some new coloring books.  I live with a 5 year old, so of course we have coloring books.  I’d like my own though, I’d like to color something that doesn’t have a pony or a princess!

 

Leave a Reply

