Gift Ideas for the Reader on Your List

Only 8 more shopping days left until Christmas!  I am complete freaked out now.  I still have more shopping to do, and even though each year I attempt to get my shopping done early, it somehow never happens.  I still have a few things left to buy for my husband and daughter, and stockings that need to be stuffed.  If you’re like me, and you still have some shopping to do, these are some great gift ideas for the readers on your shopping list.  Some of these I’ve already bought, and some are on my own Christmas list!

9781454709138_p0_v2_s192x300I have two close friends on my list this year – they’re both getting coloring books.  These books have become so popular – they’re basically everywhere.  These “adult coloring books” are on my Christmas too.  I’m always happy to be coloring something that doesn’t have a pony or a princess!9780316206853_p0_v5_s192x300

For my Mom this year, I bought The Cuckoo’s Calling, which is the first in J.K. Rowling’s mystery series about private detective Comoran Strike.  It’s written under a penn name, Robert Galbraith, and is quite a departure from her other work.  I’ve raved about the series before, and now I’m sharing the love.  The third book in this series just came out, and it’s at the top of my Christmas list.  This may be for the older Harry Potter fan 9780312642983_p0_v3_s192x300on your list, or for someone who has already read the first two books, the third one was recently released.

For the teen on your list (or anyone else who has read these two series), there are two new releases in these two popular series: Winter is book 4 in the Lunar Chronicle series, which I’ve heard really good things about.  The third book in the Miss Peregrine’s series is also now out, which I can’t wait to read.  Library of Souls is on my TBR list, and I hope it’s waiting for me under our Christmas tree!

9781594747588_p0_v4_s192x300I’m not a big fan of giving gift cards at Christmas, and I personally would rather have an actual gift over a gift card.  However, one of my favorite gift cards to get are those for iTunes.  Instead of just music or apps, there are also digital downloads available for ebooks and audiobooks.  I am also a fan of Audible.com, and this is great for a last minute gift, as there are gift cards available online.  I love audiobooks, and I love this website because downloads are quick and easy, but mostly because of the audiobooks.  They frequently feature popular or classic titles read by popular actors and actresses.  One book Disney-Frozen-CD-Boombox-with--pTRU1-19457032dtthat’s available now is Slaughterhouse Five narrated by James Franco.  There is also a new audio version of Dracula with Tim Curry and Alan Cumming that I can’t wait to download!

For my daughter, who is 5 this Christmas, my husband and I picked out a small CD player (Frozen-themed!).  She has become obsessed with audio books and demands to listen to them every time we are in the car.  Along with the CD player, we picked out a bunch of short books that came with CDs.  I think she’s going to love it, and I think I’m going to love listening to music in the car again, and not the audio version of Frozen for the thousandth time.

These are great gifts for the reads of all ages on your list.  They are also perfect gifts for me!  I hope after all the shopping and craziness that the holidays bring, you’re finding time to read!  As soon as I get my final grades posted this week, I’ll be able to finish my shopping, and hopefully finish the book I’ve been trying to read for about 2 weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

