Off the Page

IMG_0523I gave up on Jodi Picoult a long time ago. I’ve read a few of her books, and after a while I grew tired of riding an emotional roller coaster every time I read one of her books. I’m not afraid of emotions – and I love good books that make feel and emote.  After reading maybe 3 or 4 of her books, I was kind of over the drama.  I just noticed one of her latest books, Off the Page, at the library.  It’s co-written with her daughter, Samantha Van Leer, who is a student at Vassar College. I wasn’t exactly penning bestsellers while I was in college, but when your Mom has sold millions of books, I guess the bar is pretty high!

9780553535563_p0_v6_s192x300Off the Page is part fairy tale, part teen romance, and all parts fun.  Before picking the book up at the library, I had no idea that it had a “companion” novel, Between the Lines.  I didn’t read it before this book, and I don’t know if I need or want to. This may be the beginning of a series, though, and I’d like to see what happens to these characters.  Delilah is the main character, and is a teenage bookworm (sounds too familiar), and has a favorite book that she reads over and over.   loving the scenery and characters – one character in particular, the handsome young Prince Oliver. One day she discovers that she can actually talk him, he world changes.

Now that she knows that, her goal becomes trying to get him out of the book. I suppose those details were discussed in Between the Lines, but I think I’ll skip that one. Since I read it out of order, I think I already know how that book ends.  They work together and find a loophole, which will allow him to leave the book, but only if they can find a replacement. If they can find someone to switch places with him, the book will allow him to leave. Enter Edgar, who they find after researching the book’s author. He is the author’s son, the exact same age as Oliver, and oddly looks just like him.  Convincing him to switch places with Oliver is not so easy.  As a huge video game fan, they convince Edgar, it’ll be just like living in a video game.

Having never lived in the real world, it’s interesting to see him adjust to life as a regular teenager. It’s a cute story about their life together, and what happens when other characters in the book are swapped for people (even the dogs) in Delilah’s life. Other than this book, I don’t think I’ll start reading any of her other books, but might read another in this series (if it actually becomes a series).

2 thoughts on “Off the Page

Leave a Reply

