Christmas Cookies

unnamed-2One of my favorite things to do during the holidays is bake.  Last month I did quite a bit of baking, for Thanksgiving, and in honor of Bake It Forward.  So far, in preparation for Christmas, we’ve baked cookies, fudge, pies, pumpkin bread, and just last night I put the finishing touches on some delicious gingerbread.  I think I unnamedactually ate just as much frosting as I put on the bread!  Tis the season, right??

Last week I hosted a cookie exchange for some friends (and for the cookies).  I have hosted one other cookie exchange, and I really want to make this an annual tradition.  I have a friend who has hosted one every year for the past 10 years – and I don’t think I’ve missed one!  It really is just so much fun.

unnamed-3One cookie I always bring is a chocolate chip snowball.  It’s a cookie my grandma made every year when I was growing up.  Now it’s my turn to make it – and I have been making them every year since since my husband and I first met.  He loves them just as much as I do.  This year my daughter was able to help, which was super fun, and I love passing these traditions down to her.  The recipe I use for these cookies is slightly different than the one I know my grandma used.  I’ve had this cookie recipe book for years, unnamed-1and dust it off each time I make these cookies (though I have half of the recipe memorized at this point).

We had such a good time, and it’s such a fun tradition.  It’s a great way to get together during the holidays.  Our party was last week, and we’re already out of cookies.  I guess it’s time to make some more!!  Hope you have a wonderful holiday, and eat as many cookies as your heart desires!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

Leave a Reply

