Blind Date With a Book

unnamedValentine’s Day is this Sunday.  Last year my husband and I were not together – so I wasn’t that excited, it was just another day that he had missed on his 10-month deployment.  We will be celebrating this year tougher – and though we aren’t planning anything romantic, we are taking a trip with our daughter to NYC.  We’re all excited – though not excited about the chilly weather forecasted for the weekend.

Last year our library hosted a Valentine’s Day special they called Blind Date With a Book.  I picked out my “date”, based on a brief 51dxeBM986L._SX309_BO1,204,203,200_description of the book on it’s cover.  Even though I didn’t like the book I had a “date” with, I thought it was super fun.  This year, the library is doing it again.  I picked up my “date” just a few days ago.  Specially – wrapped books, which hide their covers, each with a cute description of what lay inside the package.  There were many to choose from, all decked out in hearts.

The one I picked out this year was described as chick lit, made into a movie, romance, and fiction.  So, ready to find out what this book was, I opened it up and was slightly disappointed.  I have already read it – and may have to go back to the library for another “date”!  With the book I picked last year, I was promised something like Briget Jones – and it was something I just couldn’t read.  This year I actually got Miss Jones, and I don’t think I’ll be reading this one either.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!  Hope yours is much more exciting than mine is!!  Don’t have a date?  You can always find a good book!

2 thoughts on “Blind Date With a Book

Leave a Reply

