11/22/63

9781451627299_p0_v2_s192x300This mini-series that recently debuted on Hulu is based on the Stephen King book of the same name, which came out in 2011. It is one of the best King books, one of my favorites – and one of my favorite books ever. When I heard that the book was to be made into a miniseries, I was super excited.  I have to admit that I signed up for Hulu just to watch the show – and it was totally worth it. When I started watching it, all of the details of the book came back, it had been a while since I had read the book – though now am considering re-reading it.

The first episode “The Rabbit Hole” describes just what a mind trip this book, this miniseries is. There was actually a Lost episode with this same title, and obviously references Alice in Wonderland.  The story starts with an old-fashioned diner in Maine, so quintessential New England, and so quintessential King. Jake, a high school English teacher, is the main character of the story. It’s through a friend he makes at the diner that he is able to find a time portal. Of course, it takes some time to get his head around this, and with the guidance of Al, the diner’s owner who had originally discovered the portal, is determined to go back in time and try to prevent the assassination of JFK. He learns that he was only shown this portal because of Al’s cancer, and because he couldn’t complete his mission of stopping Lee Harvey Oswald.

There’s one important thing about this time portal – it only allows them to go back to one certain day in 1958.  From there, they can stay as long as they like, come back to the present day, and only two minutes will have passed.  If they chose to return again to the past, they will return to that exact same day.  If you could go back in time, to just one day in history, to make the greatest impact ot possibly change the future, or change the world, what would that one day be??  That something that Al has contemplated, and decides the most important thing he can do is to try and stop the JFK assassination.

So, James Franco was announced a while ago to be playing the lead character, Jake Epping. I think he’s great for the role – and I loved him in the role. I’m not quite sure who I was picturing when I first read the book, definitely not him.  I was really surprised to see Josh Duhamel playing Frank Dunning – who really can be no one’s favorite character.

The first two episodes are available on Hulu, and really enjoyed watching both.  The Under the Dome series was so disappointing and I stopped watching after just two episodes.  11/22/63 seems more promising – and I can’t wait for the next episode that comes out Sunday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

