Dinnertime

9780062225245_p0_v4_s192x300This post is long overdue.  For Christmas this year, I got the newest Pioneer Woman’s cookbook – called Dinnertime.  I absolutely love it and have been cooking with it ever since.  This latest book of hers focuses on the most important meal of the day.  Ok, so maybe breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day.  Around here breakfast is cereal, oatmeal, muffins, yogurt, and breakfast has to be quick.  Lately, my daughter doesn’t seem to want breakfast, and my husband hardly ever eats breakfast at all.  But dinner is special.  We’re all going to sit down together, we make time for each other, and eat.

unnamed-1Right after Christmas, I got busy with these recipes.  I also got an immersion blender for Christmas, which is fun and easy to use – and works great for a few of her recipes.  Her recipes are always my favorite – easy, delicious, and something almost everyone will like.  We do eat dinner together every night, but sometimes dinner is a challenge.  Working around schedules can be a challenge – and I know there are families that are far busier than we are.  These recipes make it easy to get dinner on the night almost every night of the week!

unnamedThe recipes are relatively simple, and in her style, they are illustrated step-by-step.  One thing I love are the big batch recipes – she calls it freezer food.  Try these  recipes and you’ll have meatballs, grilled chicken, or taco/chili meat at the ready.  The meatballs I think are by far my favorites so far.  They were quite the project – but I love having them as a go-to in my freezer.  We actually had some last night – the Swedish meatball recipe, and we all loved them!

Save the meatballs for a Saturday or Sunday unnamed-2afternoon – they’re quite a project!  I ended up with over a hundred meatballs, which took almost 2 hours from start to finish.  In the process, I dirtied up every pan I have!  So worth it though.

I’ve also tried the stuffed shells, which were easy to make and very tasty – my picky 5-year old liked it!  I even got my husband to eat her Cobb salad!  He’s still trying to figure out how a salad with bacon is still healthy!  Humor him, he’s new to the salad thing!  I’m still working through the book – next up on my list of things to try is the lasagna burgers.

Any other PW fans out there?  Her recipes and books are my favorite – my daughter even loves her kids book series – Charlie the Ranch Dog.  Most of these recipes can be found on Pinterest, or her website – but if you’re like me, you’ll enjoy this having this book on hand!

 

 

Leave a Reply

