My Reading Passport

unnamedSo finding out what authors are from VA and MO got me thinking if I could put stamps in a passport for author’s hometowns or where they lived when doing most of their writing just how many would I have? I started by looking up the authors on my bookshelf here at home then moved on to the bookshelf in my classsroom. I chose not to look up every author I’ve ever read as that could take forever, lol, but I did look up my favorite authors.

Arizona – Jenn McKinlay: Library Lover’s Mysteries

California – Betty Hechtman: Crochet Mysteries and Yarn Retreat Mysteries

Colorado – Mildred D. Taylor: Logan Family saga

Connecticut – Madeleine L’Engle: Wrinkle in Time and its sequels

         Suzanne Collins: Hunger Games trilogy

Florida/Virgina – Sherryl Woods: Chesapeake Shores

Hawaii – Lois Lowry: The Giver and Number the Stars as well as numerous others

Illinois – Terry Brooks: The Shannara Chronicles

Maine – Stephen King: really do I need to list any books LOL

Maryland – Nora Roberts: too many to name but my favorite is the Chesapeake Bay quartet

Massachusetts – R.A. Salvatore: Drizzt the Dark Elf books

Michigan – Christopher Paul Curtis: Bud, Not Buddy and Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963

Minnesota – MaryJanice Davidson: Undead and series

Mississippi – Charlaine Harris: Sookie Stackhouse books

Missouri – covered in my MO post

New Mexico – Gary Paulsen: Hatchet series

New York – James Patterson: too many books to count adult and YA, but my fave is the Maximum Ride series

Louis Sachar: Holes and many many others

Veronica Roth: Divergent trilogy

North Carolina – Jan Karon: Mitford Chronicles

Ohio – Margaret Peterson Haddix: Among the Hidden series, The Missing series, and more

Sharon Creech: Bloomability is one of my fave YA boosk

Oklahoma – S.E. Hinton: The Outsiders

Pacific Northwest – JoAnn Ross: Shelter Bay and Castlelough series

Pennsylvania – Lloyd Alexander: Prydain Chronicles

Jerry Spinelli: again so many YA books including Stargirl and Milkweed

South Carolina – Caroline B Cooney: Face on the Milk Carton set and more

Texas – Rick Riordan: Percy Jackson series and more

Emily March (at least this is what I can find): Eternity Springs series

United Kingdom – James Herriot: All Creatures and many more memoirs about his veterinary practice

J.K. Rowling: nothing need be said right?

Vermont – Katherine Paterson: Bridge to Terabithia

Washington – Orson Scott Card: Enderverse books and more

Debbie Macomber – Cedar Cove and many more

Susan Wiggs – Lakeshore Chronicles

So what would your reading passport look like? I know I have more but I had to stop somewhere lol!!

Leave a Reply

