Gift Ideas For the Reader On Your List

9780062494603_p0_v5_s192x300Only 10 more shopping days left until Christmas!  I am complete freaked out now.  I still have more shopping to do, and even though each year I attempt to get my shopping done early, it somehow never happens.  I still have a few things left to buy for my husband and daughter, and stockings that need to be stuffed – and cookies to be baked!  If you’re like me, and you still have some shopping to do, these are some great gift ideas for the readers on your shopping list.  Some of these I’ve already bought, and some are on my own Christmas list!

One book that is definitely on my TBR list is Settle for More by Megyn Kelly.  I’m buying this book for my Mom for Christmas 9780763695828_p0_v4_s192x300this year – and I can’t wait to read it together.  Full disclosure: neither of us are Republicans or watch Fox news (like, ever).  I still am awed by her and impressed with her for strongly and intelligently standing up to Donal Trump.

There are a few great gifts for Potterheads this year.  And I want all of them!!  A book was just released that chronicles all 8 of the Harry Potter movies – with gorgeous pictures and 9780062409959_p0_v3_s192x300details about scenes and locations.  There are two newish books that pick up where the series left off: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.  While at the store over the weekend I spotted a Harry Potter themed coloring book that looked really fun!

Anthony Bourdain just released a new book called  Appetites.  In it are recipes and stories about the food that he’s had all over the world.  The book is perfect for any foodie on your list!

614twaobmfl-_sl300_I’m not a big fan of giving gift cards at Christmas, and I personally would rather have an actual gift over a gift card.  However, one of my favorite gift cards to get are those for iTunes.  Instead of just music or apps, there are also digital downloads available for ebooks and audiobooks.  I am also a fan of Audible.com, and this is great for a last minute gift, as there are gift cards available online.  I love audiobooks, and I love this website because downloads are quick and easy, but mostly because of the audiobooks.  They frequently feature 9781465444967_p0_v1_s192x300popular or classic titles read by popular actors and actresses.  There is a version of Anna Karenina narrated by Maggie Gylenhaal.

For my daughter, who is 6 this Christmas, and obsessed with American Girl Dolls, there are a few great books.  There is a new line of dolls that was just released this year, and with them is a new series of books.  The books are great even for girls who don’t have the tools.  There is also a new, huge, hardcover book that details all the dolls the company makes, along with the history behind the dolls and the company.

These are great gifts for the reads of all ages on your list.  They are also perfect gifts for me!  I hope after all the shopping and craziness that the holidays bring, you’re finding time to read!  As soon as I get my final grades posted this week, I’ll be able to finish my shopping, and hopefully finish the book I’ve been trying to read for about 2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

